sports 版 (精华区)
发信人: sail (游啊!游啊!), 信区: Sports
标 题: [转载] FAQ about volleyball之吊球 - sail
发信站: 听涛站 (Sun Jan 2 18:49:06 2000), 转信
【 以下文字转载自 deleted 讨论区 】
【 原文由 goodboy 所发表 】
F: Play of the Ball / Dinks and Miscellaneous
1. Are open one-hand dinks legal?
Funny, dinks are not mentioned in the Indoor rules, but are in
Outdoor. Open hand dinks are legal Indoors, but NOT Outdoors where
[O13.4.5] says an "One hand placement or redirection of the ball with
the fingers" is illegal; it's got to be a "roll shot," "cobra," or
"camel toe."
2. What's a 'roll shot,' 'cobra,' and 'camel toe'?
These are short, one-handed shots usually with much topspin used instead
of 'dinks' outdoors and may be used indoors as well. In the 'roll shot'
the ball is hit with the heel or palm of the hand; in the 'cobra' with
straight locked fingertips, and the 'camel toe' with knurled [not to be
confused with gnarled] fingers. You'll also hear these hits lumped under
the verb 'to tool' as in "that wuss tooled the ball over my block into
that big hole my slug partner left open." Another synonym here is "slime."
3. What's a 'power' dink and is it legal?
Controversy here... First, a 'power' dink is one that looks like
a throw; the hand contacts the ball high and with a stiff wrist
is directed downwards into the opponents' court with considerable
velocity. Your hand might remain in contact with the ball for
some time, like for 30-45 degrees of arc. When you see these, it's
often the start of an argument on both sides. It usually happens
when the ball's set too close to the net and the hitter's trying
to avoid getting stuffed. To some folks it's a throw, others, a
legal shot. Higher level refs call it ok, lower level will call
it a fault.
4. Can I contact the ball over the opponent's court?
Only when blocking their attempt to direct the ball into your
court [8-14-f]. You cannot attack a ball completely on your opponents'
side of the net [8-11].
5. Can you reach across the plane of the net after the 3rd hit?
Yep. If the "over" was the result of a follow-through of a spike
of a ball on the plane or on the attacker's side - perfectly
fine [8-11]. Otherwise, see the 2 questions just above.
6. What if I'm LEGALLY under the net, my knees are across the plane of the
net, and my leg is then hit by the ball on the opponents' side of the net
before the ball breaks the plane of the net?
before the ball breaks the plane of the net?
Rule [9-1c] says "The opponents are not allowed to intentionally touch
the ball under the net before the ball passes fully beyond the vertical
plane of the net. However, if the ball inadvertently contacts an opponent
beyond the plane under the net, the ball becomes out of play and no fault
is charged to the opponents."
Unfortunately, this paragraph does not say what to do in case the contact
is not intentional and is not beyond the plane of the net. Probably best
to use the same rationale as in play above the net, i.e. unintentional
contact under the net is not a fault by the defenders if the ball clearly
would not clear the net and it is the third hit or none of the attacking
team members could have made a play on the ball. If any of these points
are in doubt, I would rule against the defenders (Geoffrey Clemm).
7. Can I step on the center line?
Yes, but be careful! A player is allowed to step on the center line. You
may contact your opponents court as long as "some part of the encroaching
foot or feet remain on or above the center line" [9-6] Note the "above";
if you lift your foot getting back, you're still legal. It also isn't a
fault to cross the extension of the center line Outside the court
[beaucoup bandwidth blown on this discussion!].
Proposed changes to the USVBA rules may make it legal to completely cross
the center line into your opponents court. This is total madness! Many
VB foot/ankle injuries are caused by encroachment. Never allow
encroachment to go unchastized! Especially with lower level players in
jungle ball games (an excellent reason to eschew jungle ball).
8. Can you ever cross the center line?
Your foot may cross the center line if part of your foot remains on
or above the line [9-6]. If any other part of your body, say your
pinkie, touches the opponents' court, it's a fault. As an aside:
BE CAREFUL! ENCROACHMENT IS NOT TO BE TOLERATED! Even in practice
or rec play. Most serious ankle-foot injuries are the result of
encroachment - let everyone know it's a Serious Fault!
9. The ball hit a basketball backstop near our court, do we replay
the point?
Usually, yes. If the ball hits a low hanging obstruction under 7
meters and within 2m of the court, the ball's normally called dead
and replayed. This falls in the category of local rules and should
be explained by the ref prior to play.
10. What if the ball hits the ceiling?
A ceiling, particularly over 7 meters is out and a point or side
out awarded. If it hits part of the ceiling between 15-23' (4.5-7m)
it's still in play. Under 15'? Jeez, serves you right for playing
in the Troglodyte Open. You also might want to check your local
rules - they often cover ceiling hits.
11. What is a 'free' ball and why do players yell 'free'?
A free ball is generally any ball which isn't spiked/hard hit.
When a team sees that their opponents are not going to blast the
ball over, someone (setter, or in our play, anyone first sensing
that it won't be a hit - sometimes the setter's view might be
blocked) yells "free" meaning, "get your slow hitter butts back
and pass something" [thanks to Darcie Hammer].
12. What are "angle" and "line" and why do I hear players yelling
these words?
The non-hitter who has a view of the blocker(s) yells to the hitter
what areas are not blocked or covered to direct the spike into
these areas. A "line" hit is one down the sideline nearest the
hitter, while an "angle" is a crosscourt hit from a ball set to
the side. Obviously these don't work for a middle set.
13. In a beach game, I saw the player at the net hold up 2 fingers
he player at the net hold up 2 fingers
behind their back when their partner was serving. Why?
The net player/blocker was telling their partner the direction they
were going to block; 1 = line, 2 = angle, fist = no block.
14. What are the position numbers on the court?
There's more than one system, but the most common has the setter
(right back) designated #1 with 2-6 numbered counter-clockwise to #6.
15. Someone asked me if I played a 6-2 or 5-1, but I'm 5'8. What were
they talking about?
They were asking about standard player/offensive sets. In these 2
common offenses, the first number is the number of designated
hitters, the second, the number of setters. In a 6-2, while 2 players
share setting duties (coming from the back row), all 6 players are
hitters as well. In a 5-1, there are 5 hitters and one setter (back
or front row). Most higher level teams go with a 5-1 to get
consistent setting. With lower level teams you might hear a 4-2 where
two setters always set and the setter is always in the front row.
A bit farther and you'll hear "center set" where the person rotating
into the middle of the front row sets (giving up the middle hit).
16. What is rally scoring?
A perverted system of scoring designed to destroy normal play
gned to destroy normal play
strategies, etc. A point is scored with each serve; whoever wins
the volley gets a point. Normally used in a final game to speed
up play to get the show over quickly.
17. What are the rules differences between USVBA and high schools?
There are too many to list here. If you're interested, check with
Van Vo (van@wucs1.wustl.edu); he's compiled a list of 30+
differences courtesy Sue Lemaire, NAGWS VB Rules Interpreter.
18. I was playing vb at a picnic and people crashed the net, lifted
the ball, ran over on our side, and generally ignored the rules.
How do I let them know there are rules without them saying "we're
only playing for fun" and me sounding like an asshole?
Good Luck! The best way to do this is to let it be known from the
start that 1) the net is "fragile", please don't crash it, and 2) that
crossing onto your opponents court is how ankles get broken. As
for throws, doubles, etc., let'em go. If you have a problem with
this kind of play - sit back in that lawn chair and have another
beer. You might try a little teaching, but let's face it, folks are
there to party, not learn.
party, not learn.
--
※ 来源:.听涛站 bbs.foundernet.edu.[FROM: bbs.foundernet.edu]
--
※ 转载:.听涛站 bbs.foundernet.edu.[FROM: bbs.foundernet.edu]
Powered by KBS BBS 2.0 (http://dev.kcn.cn)
页面执行时间:1.630毫秒